The Cambridge introduction to Gabriel García Márquez /

The Colombian Nobel Prize winner, Gabriel García Márquez (b. 1927), wrote two of the great novels of the twentieth century, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera. As novelist, short story writer and journalist, García Márquez has one of literature's most instantly recogn...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Martin, Gerald, 1944- (Author)
Format: eBook
Published: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Series:Cambridge introductions to literature.
Online Access:CONNECT
Table of Contents:
  • Machine generated contents note: Introduction; 1. The life and work in historical context; 2. Early short stories, journalism and a first (modernist) novel, Leaf Storm (1947-1955); 3. The neorealist turn: In Evil Hour, No One Writes to the Colonel and Big Mama's Funeral (1956-1962); 4. One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967): the global village; 5. The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975): the love of power; 6. Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981): postmodernism and Hispanic literature; 7. Love in the Time of Cholera (1985): the power of love; 8. More about power: The General in His Labyrinth (1989) and News of a Kidnapping (1996); 9. More about love: Of Love and Other Demons (1994) and Memories of My Melancholy Whores (2004); 10. Memoir: Living to Tell the Tale (2002); Conclusion: the achievement of the universal Colombian.