Table of Contents:
  • Anita Brookner: Art Historian, Don, and Novelist
  • A Start in Life/The Debut: "Unsafe against Disappointment"
  • Providence: "No Middle Way"
  • Look at Me: "No Voice at the World's Tribunals"
  • Hotel du Lac: "Giv[ing] Herself a Countenance"
  • Family and Friends: "Lavender and Vetiver and 'the Advantage of Rules and Regulations' "
  • The Misalliance: "The Fibrous Content of Real Life"
  • A Friend from England: "Even in These Liberated Days"
  • The Achievement of Anita Brookner.