String quartet no. 2 /

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Main Author: Ives, Charles, 1874-1954 (Composer)
Other Authors: Goldstein, Malcolm, 1936- (Editor)
Format: Musical Score Book
Language:No linguistic content
Published: New York : Peer International Corporation, [2016]
Edition:Ives Society critical edition.
Item Description:For 2 violins, viola and cello.
"Charles Ives Society critical edition."
Preface, performance notes, description of sources, and critical commentary in English.
"Ives's complete pencil score sketch is the principal source for this edition"--Page iii.
Most of Ives's comments from the manuscript are reproduced in the score; others available in the critical commentary.
Digitized source scores (manuscripts) for this edition available at publisher's website.
Prominent musical quotations in the quartet are documented in the preface.
Ives's description of the quartet's program: "For 4 men - who converse, discuss, argue .. , fight, shake hands shut up--then walk up the mountain side to view the firmament."
Physical Description:1 score (vii, 38 pages) + 4 parts ; 31 cm